Dreamcatcher

As children, we all have exciting ideas about what we’d like to be when we grow up. Some of those fade away over the years and others prevail, so strongly that if you ask most adults what they wanted to be as children, they generally have one clear answer. Often, though, that clear answer ends up being far from where we actually end up in life.

My best friend recently did a photo project on this same topic, where she asked 12 people in different occupations what they had wanted to be growing up, and then beautifully represented these through pairs of images – one picture of them in their normal job setting, the second with one subtle element of the dream job represented within the normal job setting.

As she described the project, titled ‘Dreamcatcher’, it is a series of 12 diptychs highlighting the contrast between an individual’s current and childhood dream job.
“The inspiration for this project struck me on one of the several occasions my mother has counselled me, as I have panicked about my future. According to her, one seldom ends up following the path they thought they would, and that’s alright,” she said. Keeping this in mind, she went around Mumbai and spoke to various people, asking them what they had wanted to do when they were children.

The entire Dreamcatcher series can be seen on Deeksha’s Facebook and Instagram pages. It has been going viral, including trending number 1 on Buzzfeed, being featured on over 10 news channels and blogs, and even being covered in Canada! Deeksha, who earlier dreamed of being an artist, now finds herself an avid photographer and film-maker, hoping to probably do something in the filmmaking space. She doesn’t know for sure what she’ll end up doing, but as she’s highlighted, it really doesn’t matter!

Here are some of my favourite images of the series.

The Bai (10/12) . Dreamcatcher is a series of 12 diptychs highlighting the contrast between an individual's current and childhood dream job. The inspiration for this project struck me on one of the several occasions, my mother has counselled me, as I have panicked about my future. According to her, one seldom ends up following the path they thought they would, and that's alright. So I decided to capture this to the best of my ability by talking to people in Mumbai in various professions and asking them what they wanted to do when they were children. . @indiaphotoproject @officialhumansofbombay @mumbai_igers #Dreamcatcher #PhotoSeries #Diptychs #TheBai #Bai #PhotographyProject #Photography #Humans #HumanStories #StoriesOfIndia #Profession #Dream #Nikon #D5500 #instagram #igram #igersoftheday #picoftheday

A post shared by Deeksha Rathore (@deeksharathore_) on

The Bai (house-maid)

The Mochi (9/12) . Dreamcatcher is a series of 12 diptychs highlighting the contrast between an individual's current and childhood dream job. The inspiration for this project struck me on one of the several occasions, my mother has counselled me, as I have panicked about my future. According to her, one seldom ends up following the path they thought they would, and that's alright. So I decided to capture this to the best of my ability by talking to people in Mumbai in various professions and asking them what they wanted to do when they were children. . @indiaphotoproject @officialhumansofbombay @mumbai_igers #Dreamcatcher #PhotoSeries #Diptychs #TheMochi #Mochi #PhotographyProject #Photography #Humans #HumanStories #StoriesOfIndia #Profession #Dream #Nikon #D5500 #instagram #igram #igersoftheday #picoftheday

A post shared by Deeksha Rathore (@deeksharathore_) on

The Mochi (cobbler)

The Jeweller (8/12) . Dreamcatcher is a series of 12 diptychs highlighting the contrast between an individual's current and childhood dream job. The inspiration for this project struck me on one of the several occasions, my mother has counselled me, as I have panicked about my future. According to her, one seldom ends up following the path they thought they would, and that's alright. So I decided to capture this to the best of my ability by talking to people in Mumbai in various professions and asking them what they wanted to do when they were children. . @indiaphotoproject @officialhumansofbombay @mumbai_igers #Dreamcatcher #PhotoSeries #Diptychs #TheJeweller #Jeweller #PhotographyProject #Photography #Humans #HumanStories #StoriesOfIndia #Profession #Dream #Nikon #D5500 #instagram #igram #igersoftheday #picoftheday

A post shared by Deeksha Rathore (@deeksharathore_) on

The Jeweller

The Doctor (5/12) . Dreamcatcher is a series of 12 diptychs highlighting the contrast between an individual's current and childhood dream job. The inspiration for this project struck me on one of the several occasions, my mother has counselled me, as I have panicked about my future. According to her, one seldom ends up following the path they thought they would, and that's alright. So I decided to capture this to the best of my ability by talking to people in Mumbai in various professions and asking them what they wanted to do when they were children. . @indiaphotoproject @officialhumansofbombay @mumbai_igers #Dreamcatcher #PhotoSeries #Diptychs #TheDoctor #Doctor #PhotographyProject #Photography #Humans #HumanStories #StoriesOfIndia #Profession #Dream #Nikon #D5500 #instagram #igram #igersoftheday #picoftheday

A post shared by Deeksha Rathore (@deeksharathore_) on

The Doctor

The Mithai Maker(4/12) . Dreamcatcher is a series of 12 diptychs highlighting the contrast between an individual's current and childhood dream job. The inspiration for this project struck me on one of the several occasions, my mother has counselled me, as I have panicked about my future. According to her, one seldom ends up following the path they thought they would, and that's alright. So I decided to capture this to the best of my ability by talking to people in Mumbai in various professions and asking them what they wanted to do when they were children. . @indiaphotoproject @officialhumansofbombay @mumbai_igers #Dreamcatcher #PhotoSeries #Diptychs #TheMithaiMaker #Mithai #PhotographyProject #Photography #Humans #HumanStories #StoriesOfIndia #Profession #Dream #Nikon #D5500 #instagram #igram #igersoftheday #picoftheday

A post shared by Deeksha Rathore (@deeksharathore_) on

The Mithai Maker (sweet maker)

What did you think of this project, and which was your favourite image? Do any of them strike a chord with you? What did you dream of doing as a child, and what are you doing now? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Dreamcatcher

Leave a Reply

